HALBSTARK
International Theatre Festival for 9 to 13 Year Olds

The 2010 premier of HALBSTARK was a great success. The Kulturamt der Stadt Münster and the Theater Münster, along with the NRW KULTURsekretariat (Wuppertal) and many other partners now present the second outing of this extraordinary festival, from 6 to 11 November 2012.

HALBSTARK is back with national and international plays, dance, musical and object-based theatre to entertain and challenge its audience.

The plays and performances will again focus attention on the lives of 9- to 13-year-olds and aim to inspire children, adults and professionals alike with a multifaceted festival week in which nothing can be missed.

Over six festival days, thirteen productions from Germany, the Netherlands, France, Belgium and Italy will be performed in the Theater Münster and the Theater in der Meerweise and in front of classroom audiences. They will examine what’s beautiful and what’s sad, what’s funny and what’s important, what’s true and what’s not true, what’s crazy and what’s serious and in doing so will connect with the issues and dreams of their audience.

Artists’ talks, readings, workshops, festival parties, lectures and favourite pieces will complement the theatrical programme.

The theme of the second outing of HALBSTARK revolves around the choices made between childhood and adolescence and the forms this period takes.

In theatrical discussions theatre-makers, academics, artists and teachers will discuss getting older and not-yet-being-older. How do 9- to 13-year-olds orientate themselves in the world? How do they engage their courage, their creativity and their energy? How do they help form our society? And is art really in touch with the issues of this age group?

The children themselves will also reveal their view of the world. They are designing their own part of the festival programme, present their ideas and talents in small performances, become theatre critics and, as experts, join discussions with theatre-makers and politicians.

We are welcome anyone who wants to get involved, when children’s theatre-makers entertain us with their plays about new and challenging experiences and discoveries and 9- to 13-year-olds give us an insight into their worlds.

©2022 Kulturamt der Stadt Münster

HALBSTARK 2012
Internationales Theaterfestival
für Kinder von 9 bis 13 Jahren

Die Premiere von HALBSTARK 2010 war ein voller Erfolg. Nun präsentieren das Kulturamt der Stadt Münster und das Theater Münster gemeinsam mit dem NRW KULTURsekretariat (Wuppertal) und vielen Partnern vom 6. bis 11. November 2012 die zweite Ausgabe dieses außergewöhnlichen Festivals.

Mit Schauspiel, Tanz-, Figuren- und Objekttheater aus dem In- und Ausland ist HALBSTARK zurück, um sein Publikum zu unterhalten und herauszufordern.

Die Stücke und Aktionen richten erneut den Blick auf die Lebenswelt der 9- bis 13-Jährigen und möchten Kinder, Erwachsene und Fachleute für eine facettenreiche Festivalwoche begeistern, in der man nichts verpassen sollte.

An sechs Festivaltagen sind dreizehn Produktionen aus Deutschland, Holland, Frankreich, Belgien und Italien im Theater Münster und im Theater in der Meerwiese zu Gast oder treffen ihr Publikum im Klassenzimmer. Sie erzählen Schönes und Trauriges, Lustiges und Wichtiges, Wahres und Unwahres, Verrücktes und Ernstes und sind dabei ganz nah dran an den Themen und Träumen ihrer Zuschauer.

Künstlergespräche, Lesungen, Workshops, Festivalpartys, Vorträge und Lieblingsstücke ergänzen das Theaterprogramm.

Wählen und Gestalten zwischen Kindheit und Jugend ist das Thema der zweiten Ausgabe von HALBSTARK.

In Theatergesprächen diskutieren Theatermacher, Wissenschaftler, Künstler und Pädagogen über das Älterwerden und das Noch-Nicht-Altgewordensein. Wie orientieren sich 9- bis 13-Jährige in der Welt? Wie setzen sie ihren Mut, ihre Kreativität und Energie ein? Wie gestalten sie unsere Gesellschaft mit? Und ist die Kunst wirklich nah dran an den Themen dieser Altersgruppe?

Auch die Kinder selbst zeigen ihren Blick auf die Welt. Sie gestalten einen eigenen Festival-Programmpunkt, zeigen mit kleinen Auftritten ihre Ideen und Begabungen, sind Theaterkritiker und diskutieren als Experten mit Theatermachern und Politikern.

Wir freuen uns über alle, die dabei sein wollen, wenn Kindertheatermacher mit ihren Stücken zu neuen und herausfordernden Erfahrungen und Entdeckungen einladen und 9- bis 13-Jährigen Einblicke in ihre Lebenswelt geben.

©2017 Kulturamt der Stadt Münster